
KERN COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT 
INVITES ATTORNEYS TO APPLY 

TO SERVE AS TEMPORARY JUDGES 
 

If you wish to serve as a temporary judge, please read this carefully 
 
 
 The Kern County Superior Court is adding attorneys to its pool of temporary judges. It 
encourages you to consider applying. 
 
 Temporary judges are used at the discretion of the Presiding Judge when the court needs 
judicial assistance that it cannot provide using its full-time judicial officers.1  
 

Temporary judges most often hear small claims, unlawful detainers, traffic, family law and 
juvenile delinquency matters.   

 
 To become a temporary judge you must have been admitted to practice as a member of the 

State Bar of California for at least ten years (or at least five years for an appointment with good 
cause).2 

 
 The conditions for appointment by the court are found in Rule 2.812(b) of the California Rules 
of Court, and the education and training requirements are found in Rule 2.812(c). The Court can 
provide considerable assistance in obtaining the necessary education and training.3 
 
 The Court seeks to maximize the potential for a diverse applicant pool.  It encourages each 
and every eligible individual to apply to be a temporary judge regardless of his or her gender, race, 
ethnicity, disability, religion, sexual orientation, age or other protected class.4  Among the 
qualifications that the Court will consider in the selection process is an applicant’s exposure to and 
experience with diverse populations and issues related to those populations.5 
 
 If you wish to apply, please contact Ali Morton at (661) 868-2578 or e-mail at 
ali.morton@kern.courts.ca.gov. 

                                                 
1 Rule of Court 2.811(a) 
2 Rule of Court 2.812(a) 
3 Rule of Court 10.740-10.741. 
4 Rule of Court 10.741. 
5 Id. 



TEMPORARY JUDGE PROGRAM TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 
 
 

LINK FOR ALL ONLINE TRAINING:      http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/cjer/pro_tem.htm 
 

 
 
REQUIREMENTS EVERYONE MUST MEET EVERY THREE YEARS: 
1. Review the online Fairness, Demeanor, and Self-Represented litigants materials  
2. Attend a 4-hour in-person training session on judicial demeanor 
3. Take the online course on judicial ethics  
 
 
EXTRA REQUIREMENTS BY CALENDAR TYPE: 
1. For Small Claims calendars: 

 Take all relevant online training courses and review online benchguides  
 

2. For Unlawful Detainer calendars: 
 Take online training course and review online benchguides  

 
3. For Traffic calendars: 

 Take online training course and review online benchguides  
 Attend the local in-person class on hearing traffic calendars 

 

4. For Family Law calendars: 
 Be a Certified Family Law Specialist to hear matters in Metropolitan Bakersfield 
 For hearing matters outside the Metropolitan Bakersfield area, must take all online training courses 

and review online benchguides 
 

5. For Juvenile Dependency and Delinquency calendars: 
 Have a minimum of 5 years practice experience handling juvenile dependency and/or delinquency 

cases (must have practice experience in requested case type) 
 Take online training courses and review online benchguides 

 

6. For Domestic Violence calendars: 
 Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in domestic violence in past 24 months 

 

7. For Civil Harassment calendars 
 Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in domestic violence in past 24 months  
 Review the online benchguide available on the Judicial Council's website  

 


