
WHERE THE MONEY GOES 
 
Who gets the money Superior Court collects on fines and forfeitures? 
 
What happens to money received by a California court for traffic tickets?  Three factors 
decide the ultimate distribution and destination of money collected by courts on fines and 
bail forfeitures:   
 
 1. the law enforcement agency issuing the citation: 
 2. the location of the violation, and: 

3. the nature of the violation, such as Vehicle Code, Health and Safety Code, 
Penal Code, or Fish and Game Code. 

 
While outside the scope of this article, some violations have “special” distributions.  The 
intent here is to discuss only the most common distribution for most Kern County fines.  
This discussion is focused on County distributions only. 
 
The law enforcement agency “City” or “County” Arrest  
 
The first determining factor when distributing a fine is whether the arrest is a “city” or 
“county” arrest.  Generally if a county officer issues the citation, the fine is paid to the 
county.  Likewise, if a city officer issues the citation, the fine is paid to the city 
employing the officer.  If a California Highway Patrol (CHP) officer issues the citation, 
the location of the violation determines the distribution of the fine.  
 
City/County Arrest– Defined 
 
If an officer who makes the arrest is employed by the city, it is a “city arrest.”   It is also a 
“city arrest” if a CHP officer makes an arrest in a city, or when the sheriff makes an 
arrest in a city which contracts with the county for police services.  Arrests made by 
deputy sheriffs in non-contract cities, or in the unincorporated parts of Kern County, are 
considered “county arrests.” 
 
Violation Code 
 
The nature of the violation is another factor that determines the destination of the part of 
the payment that is the “fine.”  Generally, fines for violations of the Vehicle Code go to 
motor vehicle/safety related accounts.  Money collected for fines and forfeitures for other 
violations go mostly to “general” funds.  Revenues deposited in motor vehicle accounts 
can be spent for traffic safety efforts.   
 
Penalty Assessments and 20% State Surcharge 
 
A “penalty assessment” and 20% state surcharge is added to each fine.  By statute, 
California created the first penalty assessment in the late 1960’s.  Over the years, the 
penalty assessment has increased to the point that it is now larger than the fine.  Today, 



the penalty assessment in Kern County averages more than 260% of the base fine.   The 
penalty assessment is $29 for each $10 (or portion of $10) fine.  Therefore, for example, 
when a judge imposes a fine of $100, the court must collect $100 plus ten increments of 
the $29 penalty assessment ($290) and a 20% state surcharge ($20) for a total of $410. 
 
In Kern County, the $29 penalty assessment is made up of five main sections, the $10 
state penalty (Penal Code 1464), the $7 county penalty (Government Code 76000), the $5 
state court facilities penalty (Government Code 70372(a)), the $5 penalty levied by the 
DNA Fingerprint, Unsolved Crime and Innocence Protection Act (GC 76104.6 and GC 
76104.7), and a $2 penalty for the Maddy Medical Emergency Services Fund (GC 
76000.5).      
 
 
Other Fees/Assessments 
 
Special fees are assessed in Vehicle Code violations as follows:  Courts that conduct 
night court sessions collect an additional $1 fee to Vehicle Code violations to help defray 
the added cost of providing night court sessions (Vehicle Code 42006).  A $10 “drivers 
license priors” fee (Vehicle Code 40508.6A) is collected on all vehicle code violations 
when there are prior vehicle code violations, to help defray the cost of recording and 
maintaining a record of the defendant’s prior convictions.  A $40 court operations 
assessment is imposed on every conviction for a criminal offense, including traffic 
offenses (Penal Code 1465.8).  A $35 criminal conviction assessment is also added for 
every infraction and a $30 criminal conviction assessment is added for every 
misdemeanor and felony (GC 70373).  An additional penalty of $4 is imposed on every 
vehicle code conviction for the Emergency Medical Air Transport Fund (GC 76000.10).  
 
All combined, Kern County Courts collect $490 for a $100 base fine on a vehicle code 
infraction with no prior convictions. 
 
In Summary: 
 
When the court imposes a $100 base fine for a city arrest of a violation in the vehicle 
code, the court is required by statute to collect a total of $490:  $100 is allocated between 
the city and the county in accordance with Section 1463.002 of the Penal Code; $310 to 
the various penalty assessments and 20% state surcharge as described above, $40 to the 
state court security fund, $35 to the criminal conviction assessment for infractions, a $4 
penalty to the Emergency Medical Air Transport Fund, and the final $1 goes to the night 
court assessment. If there is a prior vehicle code violation, an additional $10 penalty 
assessable base fine is added, as well as a $10 administrative fee . 
 
The minimum base fine per statute for a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction in 
California is $390.  After adding the penalty and special assessments (alcohol abuse 
program fee (Penal Code 1463.25), the 20% state surcharge (PC 1465.7), a restitution fee 
(Penal Code 1202.4), a court security fee (Penal Code 1465.8), a criminal conviction 
assessment (GC 70373), and a $4 penalty for the Emergency Medical Air Transportation 



Fund (GC 76000.10, a person must pay $1,873.  The total is calculated as follows:  Since 
there are 39 $10 increments in $390, penalty assessment is calculated at 39 x $29 = 
$1,131.  The $390 base fine, plus $1,131 penalty assessment, $78 20% state surcharge, 
$50 alcohol abuse program fee, $150 restitution fee, $40 court security fee, $30 criminal 
conviction assessment, and $4 penalty for the Emergency Medical Air Transportation 
Fund, come to a total of $1,873.  This $1,873 is the minimum DUI fine including penalty 
and special assessments for first-time offenders. 
 
Allocation (Distribution) of Money Paid 
 
Actual distribution is more complicated than described so far.  There are several layers of 
information that have to be considered when deciding who gets what.  Determining 
whether an arrest is a city arrest or a county arrest is only the first step.  Section 1463.002 
of the California Penal Code sets the “base fine” distribution for California counties.  One 
looks here to find the share of county or city arrest fines.  The county share of city fines 
in Kern County is an average of approximately 15 percent.  Each county has a different 
percentage for the county share of city fines.  The discussion here is limited to Kern 
County.  Details are different for other counties but the general construct is good for all 
California counties.  Many “special” distributions represent exceptions to “standard” 
allocations discussed in this article.  For example, there are special allocations for litter 
violations and drug related violations.  For purposes of clarity (and brevity) we will 
mention exceptions only in passing. 
 
Penalty Assessment Distribution 
 
The State of California mandates that courts collect penalty assessments in addition to 
every fine.  If the court imposes fines on more than one violation on a case, the penalty 
assessment is calculated on the total of all fines on the case.   
 
The $10 State Penalty Assessment 
 
The State of California allocates 70% of the State penalty to the State Penalty Fund.  The 
remaining 30% is deposited in the County General Fund to assist the County in their 
maintenance of effort contribution to the state for trial court operations.  The State of 
California distributes the 70% allocation to several California programs or agencies.  The 
following chart displays the distribution of the 70% allocated to the State Penalty Fund. 
 

FUND – 70% of State Penalty – Split Percentage 
Restitution Fund 32.02% 
Peace Officers’ Training 23.99% 
Driver Training Penalty Assessment 25.70% 
Corrections Training Fund 7.88% 
Fish & Game Preservation Fund 0.33% 
Local Public Prosecutors and Public Defenders  
Training Fund 0.78% 



Victim – Witness Assistance Fund 8.64% 
Traumatic Brain Injury Fund 0.66% 

Total State Penalty Distribution               100.00%         
 
 
The $7 County Penalty Assessment 
 
The $7 County Penalty Assessment is distributed in accordance with Section 76100 of 
the Government Code and is used to fund the criminal justice automated system, the 
automated fingerprint fund, and the emergency medical system fund.   
 
Conclusions 
 
California, as part of its State Funding of trial court efforts, made important changes in 
January 1, 1998.  Seventy-five (75) percent of county revenue, resulting from fines and 
forfeitures, is retained in the County General Fund to subsidize County obligations for 
trial court funding as mandated by Assembly Bill 233, the Trial Court Funding Act of 
1997.  In addition, before any distributions are made, two percent of all monies collected 
for fines and penalty assessments (including bail forfeitures) is allocated to the State’s 
Trial Court Improvement Fund.  Kern County’s base fine distribution for a county arrest 
is as follows:  98% to the county and 2% to the State Trial Court Improvement Fund.  
Kern County’s city distribution allocates approximately 83.3% to the cities, 14.7% to the 
county and 2% to the State Trial Court Improvement Fund. 
 
California State Courts assess, collect and distribute legislatively mandated fines, fees 
and assessments for law enforcement and criminal justice related agencies and related 
programs. 


