# KERN COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT INVITES ATTORNEYS TO APPLY TO SERVE AS TEMPORARY JUDGES

## If you wish to serve as a temporary judge, please read this carefully

The Kern County Superior Court is adding attorneys to its pool of temporary judges. The Court encourages you to consider applying.

Temporary judges are used at the discretion of the Presiding Judge when the court needs judicial assistance that it cannot provide using its full-time judicial officers.<sup>1</sup>

Temporary judges most often hear small claims, unlawful detainers, traffic, family law and juvenile justice and dependency matters.

To become a temporary judge you must have been admitted to practice as a member of the State Bar of California for at least ten years (or at least five years for an appointment with good cause).<sup>2</sup>

The conditions for appointment by the court are found in Rule 2.812(b) of the California Rules of Court, and the education and training requirements are found in Rule 2.812(c). Additional requirements for appointment to juvenile matters are found in Rules 5.660 and 5.664 of the California Rules of Court and Local Rules 7.15.2 and 7.15.5. The Court can provide considerable assistance in obtaining the necessary education and training.<sup>3</sup>

The Court seeks to maximize the potential for a diverse applicant pool. It encourages each and every eligible individual to apply to be a temporary judge regardless of his or her gender, race, ethnicity, disability, religion, sexual orientation, age or other protected class.<sup>4</sup> Among the qualifications that the Court will consider in the selection process is an applicant's exposure to and experience with diverse populations and issues related to those populations.<sup>5</sup>

If you wish to apply, please contact Yadira Jimenez at (661) 610-6640 or e-mail at yadira.jimenez@kern.courts.ca.gov.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Rule of Court 2.811(a)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Rule of Court 2.812(a)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Rule of Court 10.740-10.741.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Rule of Court 10.741.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Id.

# TEMPORARY JUDGE PROGRAM TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

## LINK FOR ALL ONLINE TRAINING: <u>http://www2.courtinfo.ca.gov/cjer/pro\_tem.htm</u>

# **REQUIREMENTS EVERYONE MUST MEET EVERY THREE YEARS:**

- 1. Review the online Fairness, Demeanor, and Self-Represented litigants materials
- 2. Attend a 4-hour in-person training session on judicial demeanor
- 3. Take the online course on judicial ethics

## EXTRA REQUIREMENTS BY CALENDAR TYPE:

#### 1. For Small Claims calendars:

- Take <u>all</u> relevant online training courses and review online benchguides
- 2. For Unlawful Detainer calendars:
  - Take online training course and review online benchguides

## 3. For Traffic calendars:

• Take online training course and review online benchguides

## 4. For Family Law calendars:

- Be a Certified Family Law Specialist to hear matters in Metropolitan Bakersfield
- For hearing matters outside the Metropolitan Bakersfield area, must take all online training courses and review online benchguides

## 5. For Juvenile Dependency and Juvenile Justice calendars:

- Have a minimum of 5 years practice experience handling juvenile dependency and/or juvenile justice (must have practice experience in requested case type)
- Meet requirements for training required for appointed counsel described in Rules 5.660 and 5.664 of the California Rules of Court and Local Rules 7.15.2 and 7.15.5.
- Take online training courses and review online benchguides

#### 6. For Domestic Violence calendars:

- Take online training course and review online bench guides
- Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in domestic violence in past 24 months

# 7. For Civil Harassment calendars

- Take online training course and review online bench guides
- Certify you have taken at least 3 CLE units in domestic violence in past 24 months